What are the 8 Missions under India’s National Action Plan on Climate Change?

What are the 8 missions under India’s national action plan on climate change?

The Government of India founded the National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC) on 30th June, 2008. It came with eight national missions on climate change. The aim of NAPCC is on promoting the understanding of climate change and addressing it effectively. 

The eight missions are:

• National Solar Mission

• National Mission for Enhanced Energy Efficiency

• National Mission on Sustainable Habitat

• National Water Mission

• National Mission for Sustaining the Himalayan Ecosystem

• National Mission for a Green India

• National Mission fro Sustainable Agriculture

• National Mission on Strategic Knowledge for Climate Change.

In this chapter, we will look into each mission in detail below and get a better understanding of it. 

Eight Missions under National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC)

The eight aspiring missions set under NAPCC for the county to achieve are: 

1). National Solar Mission

The National Solar Mission is also known as the Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission. It was launched in January, 2010 to reduce the harmful effects of power generation on the environment. 

The mission aims to: 

• To instil 100 GW solar power plants by the year 2022. 

• To attain 280 GW of installed solar capacity by 2030. 

• To encourage both on-grid and off-grid power, and use of clean fuel. 

2). National Mission for Enhanced Energy Efficiency (NMEEE)

The National mission for Enhanced Energy Efficiency (NMEEE) was established in 2011. Is is governed by the Ministry of Power and its foundation lies on the Energy Conservation Act, 2001. The mission aims to:

• Reduce the energy consumption in large energy consuming industries. 

• Innovative ways to make energy efficient equipment and products in several industriesmore affordable. 

3). National Mission on Sustainable Habitat

The National Mission on Sustainable Habitat was initiated in 2010. It is governed by the Ministry of Urban Development. It aims to: 

• Setting up effective development plans. 

• Developing plans that address issues with adaptation and mitigation. 

• Promote urban public transport. 

4). National Water Mission 

National Water Mission was launched in 2008 by the prime mistier of India to conserve water. It aims to: 

• Increase the efficiency use by 20%. 

• Promote sustainable ways of water management. 

• It promotes rainwater harvesting and more efficient irrigation systems. 

• Increase water security though infrastructure planning and development. 

• Focus on water conservation and augmentation. 

5). National Mission for Sustaining the Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE)

The National Mission for Sustaining the Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE) was established in June, 2010. It was officially accepted by the Union Government in 2014. It comes under the Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology. It aims to: 

• To preserve the biodiversity in the Himalayan regions. 

• Prevent the melting of glaciers. 

• Adopting suitable practices of land and water use for sustainable development of Himalayan ecosystems. 

6). National Mission for a Green India 

The Green India Mission (GIM) was introduced in 2014. The mission aims to: 

• Protect, converse and improve the diminishing forest coverage of the nation. 

• To improve ecosystem functions such as carbon sinks. 

• It expands its mission on the Prime Minister’s Green India initiative to afforest 6 million hectares and reach the national target of 33% increase in forest covered area from 23% to 33%. 

7). National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA)

The National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA) was introduced in 2014-15. The mission aims to:

• Make agriculture more productive, sustainable, lucrative, and resilient to climate. 

• Efficient water management practices.

• Soil and moisture conservation measures. 

• Combination of traditional knowledge and practical systems for sustainable agriculture. 

8). National Mission on Strategic Knowledge for Climate Change 

The National Mission on Strategic Knowledge for Climate Change launched in 2018 which falls under the Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology. It aims to: 

• Partner with global community in research and technology development. 

• Have its own research agenda supported by institutions and universities that focus on climate change and a Climate Research Fund. 

• Encourage projects from the business sectors to create innovative technologies for adaptation and mitigation. 

The Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology was entrusted with the responsibility of coordinating two national missions on climate change, which are:

1. National Mission for Sustaining Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE) and

2. National Mission on Strategic Knowledge for Climate Change (NMSKCC).