Types and Stages of Value Judgement B.Ed Notes

Types and Stages of Value Judgement B.Ed Notes

According to the Oxford Dictionary “value judgment” has been defined as 

“An assessment ofsomething as good or bad in terms of one’s standards or priorities.” 

A value judgment is a judgement of the right or wrong in someone or something. A value judgment can refer to a judgment based upon a particular set of values. It is an evaluative statement of how good or bad one may consider an idea or action to be. In areas, such as aesthetics or morality, where there often are no objective right or wrong responses, value judgments are common.

Dewey John in his words said,

 “To value means primarily to prize, to esteem; but secondarily it means to apprize, to estimate. It means, that is, the act of cherishing something, holding it dear and also the act of passing judgement upon the nature and amount of values as compared with something else. To value in the latter sense is to valuate or evaluate”.

Values are an essential  part of every individual’s life as it shapes their behaviour and personality and attitude in life.  Values reflects a person and tells a lot about them. Values are necessary for the overall development of an individual such as character, personality, and spiritual development. Values develop a well-balanced individual with a strong character, values and teaches mannerism. It  teaches people to help others in need and think from other person’s perspective. Moral values help people to be more selfless and considerate. Values make an individual understand what is good or bad, and, right or wrong in the society. Values develop a responsible and sensible citizen.

Types of Value Judgements 

1. First is descriptive judgments which correspond to statements of fact, or “is” propositions. 

2. Second is evaluative judgments which correspond to statements of value. 

3. Third is prescriptive judgments which correspond to statements of either recommendation or obligation. 

Stages of Value Judgements

According to Raths et al. (1987), the stages of value judgement include:

(i) choosing freely

(ii) choosing from alternatives

(iii) choosing after thoughtful consideration of the consequences of each alternative

(iv) prizing and cherishing

(v) affirming

(vi) acting upon choices

(vii) repeating 

The seven stages is further compressed into three main stages which are – choosing, prizing and acting.