What are the 4 components of emotional maturity?

QuestionsCategory: Childhood and Growing UpWhat are the 4 components of emotional maturity?
admin Staff asked 3 years ago
1 Answers
Best Answer
admin Staff answered 3 years ago
Emotional maturity refers to the recognition and management of one’s feelings and their ability to effectively respond to these feelings. According to Daniel Goleman, there are four domains of emotional maturity which are as follows:
  1. Self-Awareness: Goleman explains self awareness as the, “ability to read and understand your emotions as well as recognize their impact on others.” This means that when they have a proper understanding of their emotions, they are able to manage them properly.
  2. Social Awareness: Social awareness refers to the ability of recognizing the emotions of others accurately and trying to use empathy for the same. According to Goleman, neurons connected to the amygdala allows us to recognize the emotions of others and helps us to respond to them.
  3. Self-Management: Self-management is also called self-regulation. It refers to the ability to manage one’s thoughts and emotions to have a sense of well being, self efficacy, and a sense of connection with others.
Relationship Management: Relationship management refers to the ability to manage one’s emotions, other’s emotions, and social interactions effectively. This ability can be used to help others and influence their decisions.