QuestionsCategory: Childhood and Growing UpBruner’s theory on intellectual development moves from Enactive to Iconic and Symbolic stages. Elaborate.
admin Staff asked 10 months ago
1 Answers
Best Answer
admin Staff answered 10 months ago

Jerome Bruner is regarded as one of the most influential and renowned educational psychologists of the twentieth century. In 1966, he researched about the cognitive development of children and identified three stages of representation namely, the enactive stage, the iconic stage, and the symbolic representation stage. He believed that the intellectual development of an individual should be the primary goal of education instead of rote memorization. Enactive representation makes use of actions to represent knowledge. Iconic representation uses visual images to represent knowledge and symbolic representation uses symbols and words to represent knowledge and experience. Intellectual development takes place through these three stages in Bruner’s point of view.

Read Full Lesson: Bruner's Theory on Cognitive Development